Unfamiliar Realities

Experiments in Yellow, Acrylic on canvas, 30×24″ MOLLIERAE 2020

Author: MollieRae Miller

MOLLIERAE is an artist of the physical. With early influences of a childhood in the North Woods of Minnesota, MollieRae creates art that pushes the puzzle pieces of the rural versus concrete lifestyles together. While stripping inspirations down to pure shape, color, and texture. I graduated with a Fine Arts degree in 2017 yet have been pursuing painting since I was a child. With passions for theater, history, architecture and psychology most of my art holds underlying symbolism referencing personal religious or emotional states of mind. The action in my paintings can be seen in the gestural and energized brush strokes and the exaggerated 3-D presence on a canvas and with the contrast of significantly bright color choices. With an appreciation of the materials the broader the spectrum of medium the better. Recently I have been focusing on the use of cotton soaked in the acrylic paint then pasted to the canvas to create texture and dynamic. Stencil printing onto canvases has symbolism in the use of repetition. 3-D structures soaked in acrylic on the canvas create unique relief sculpture. Sgraffito styles also give a personal touch to my works. My first exhibition in Minneapolis was April 2015 through the artist collective called Err. Since then I have been a part of multiple exhibits and markets per year within the Minneapolis art scene. Career wise, I have been infiltrating my creative aspects into promoting the access of art to the community. Specifically through non-profit education systems and business management. Living in Minneapolis for seven years has flooded me with an obsession for experiences as well as smothered me in questions about how the people around me participate with their own perceptions. I want to make people realize that what they are looking at in everyday life can be considered as art or as inspiration. This is relevant in personal emotions and actions as well. Future goals include the full development of an in-process artistic collective for minorities and the community. This would provide business and artistic resources to the public.

Leave a comment